[PnP] Protection Items

Wout Broere broere at powersandperils.org
Fri Sep 29 11:19:20 CEST 2006

I would say that
- Permanent Magics-Ensorcellment can be cast to create an item that 
defends against a specific spell. Against this spell it defends using 
its MDV. And of course, as said in the description, casting the 
ensorcellment at five times normal cost, the protection can be 
extended to all types of magic. If cast at normal cost it does 
nothing against other spells. It will never protect from physical harm.

- The spell protection protects from both physical and magical harm, 
using EL+2. It must be learned and cast against a specific alignment. 
Other alignments resist with triple MDV if cast against them. It does 
nothing against non-aligned persons.

If cast into an item (PM - ensorcellment) that can actively cast 
protection, it will protect at EL+2 a maximum of (EL+1)/3 times a day.

- Protection items resist magic and physical attacks from anyone, 
regardless of alignment and even nonaligned persons.
They do so at EL (no modifier) but work all the times, not a limited 
number of times per day.

So there are three options in the rules. Each of them grant 
protection. The more powerful grant protection against a more limited 
set of opponents. The less powerful protection works against 
everybody. I would say this is some balance in the rules. No 
inconsistencies here.


At 23:02 28/09/2006, you wrote:
>Three sources for Protection Items disagree somewhat.
>Book 2 p.34 Permanent Magics/Ensorcelled Items in the 3rd paragraph 
>states "...The item may only cast the spell at that EL, defend 
>against it at that EL..." While in the following paragraph it states 
>"Defensive items will add their MDV to that of the person that has 
>them against the spell involved...." Note that it says MDV, not EL.
>Book 2 p.37 Protection
>"...If the spell succeeds, the listed Roll Modifier is added to the 
>attacker's attack rolls and magic success rolls when he is attacking 
>any person within the spell's range...."  The Roll Modifier is EL+2.
>Book 4 p.35 Magic Treasure Descriptions - Protection
>"The item protects the user from physical and magical attack. The 
>effect is potent at all times. Add the item's EL to the MDV of the 
>user and to any rolls to hit him in combat."
>Having a spellcaster that is making protection items I would prefer 
>that the interpretation of the rules not be changed AFTER the items 
>are made. Thus far I have followed the "...add their MDV..." rules 
>in Permanent Magics. This provides an item that gives no bonus vs 
>combat rolls but provides a much bigger bonus to MDV. I have been 
>casting both Protection and Ensorcellment to make the permanent 
>protection items with the EL being the lower of the two. I suspect 
>that I could also make items that also affect combat rolls but only 
>use EL for the modifier.
>It is possible that Ensorcelled Items contains a typo, that it 
>should read "...add their EL..." rather than "...add their MDV...". 
>It is also possible that leaving out mention of modifying combat 
>rolls was inadvertent. It may be that it was intentionally left open 
>for GM interpretation so that a wide variety of items could be 
>made...subject to GM discretion.
>The Protection spell has a roll modifier of EL+2. The item 
>description and Ensorcellment both have a roll modifier of EL 
>(apparently no effect from an EL0 protection item).
>Any comment Richard?
>pnp mailing list
>pnp at abroere.xs4all.nl

Wout Broere		broere at powersandperils.org
P&P Website:		http://www.powersandperils.org/ 

More information about the pnp mailing list