[PnP] Damage

Albert Sales drite_mi at yahoo.com
Wed Jun 18 18:08:51 CEST 2008

My understanding of it is that it's a spell that is cast after the damage has been taken.  In this, it is still like any other spell that is cast.  I don't blieve it qualifies as magical healing (which could posibly be clarified), and the person the damage is to be transfered to sets the resistance (MDV).  I find it rarely used in my games because it is balance magic.  Very few of my players touch balance at all; the stakes are very high.
  Both the methods listed seem viable.  I assumed you cast it after since there was no listed duration.  If I were to look at it as a cast before, I would actually have the "duration" be a degredation in the amount it can transfer (like, 1 point per turn goes away).  However, as a cast before, the MDV of the person inflicting the damage becomes "not a factor".  I don't like that, personally, but it does still make a bit of sense witht this being Balance Magic.
  Although, this has reminded me of another spell of questionable application.  With Healing Light, could a wizard who has cast a spell like an EL0 Fireball to damage a small group of enemies very lightly then cast a Healing light to heal them, granted, but also incapacitate them for a full turn while his reinforcements arrive?  Also, does this count as magical healing for the daily limit?  Does this spell in any way protect those it is healing?

Scott Adams <longshot at darktech.org> wrote:

Been quiet lately. So let's start up jibber jabbering again.

Richard, can you clarify Damage Reversal? 

Its not one spell we've used that much in the past just few don't choose it.

Under the rules of course if damaged you lose the mana in casting a spell. Ergo how are the mechanics on this spell?

Cast Before hand? Cast After damage? Cast during?
Its written such a way could be interpreted many ways.

One could say that you cast with a duration. Then in that time if damaged physically or through spell damage (non energy I guess) then it goes back on the atacker. But if not it just fades away (spell). But others could read it as cast after damage and then it goes back as if the body is stored battery or something? 

Could you clarify it?

pnp mailing list
pnp at abroere.xs4all.nl

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://www.powersandperils.org/pipermail/pnp/attachments/20080618/5c1cb5f9/attachment.html>

More information about the pnp mailing list