[PnP] pnp Digest, Vol 144, Issue 4

Alex Koponen alexkoponen at gmail.com
Thu Dec 28 22:57:58 CET 2017

I would say that the CA comes first from the natural CA.

   Alex k

On Wed, Dec 27, 2017 at 9:09 PM, Thomas O. Magann Jr. <tmagann at earthlink.net
> wrote:

> >The bigger question to me is, if say, the caster has 100 CA normally and
> uses 50 of it...does the 50 come first from the wand, staff, or natural
> CA?  If the Mage later uses magic without wand or staff, how much does the
> begger have left in the tank?
> >
> Well, they allow overcasting. That means the basic Casting Ability is used
> first, doesn't it? Doesn't matter if a caster uses them earlier, and he
> might for other benefits, they don't let you exceed your casting ability
> until it's been reached. Either way, it ALL comes from your mana, so it
> only matters when your mana exceeds your casting ability. And Mana may not
> exceed casting + Wand bonus
> Basically, Tank first (casting ability), reserves second (Mana in excess
> of casting ability). Of course, you can also add a Battery feature to
> either wand or staff that you can tap anytime, instead of your casting
> ability (and it rechharges on it's own ay 10% a day). And I always have
> added that feature when I've had a character make his own wand or staff. If
> nothing else, it's another chance to increase Permanent Magics.
> Frankly, a wand is generally the first thing I make on a new mage
> character. Unless he's trained in Staff combat.
> _______________________________________________
> pnp mailing list
> pnp at list.powersandperils.org
> http://www.powersandperils.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/pnp
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://www.powersandperils.org/pipermail/pnp/attachments/20171228/936b01cc/attachment.html>

More information about the pnp mailing list