Shield rules

David Hunt dhunt at MYRIAD.NET
Thu Dec 12 05:54:29 CET 2002

Scott Adams wrote:

>How do you guys deal with shield experience?
>Do you simply get experience if a shield hit occurs?
>Doesn't seem right to me since its a bit different.  Now I think you should
>certianly get it if you BASH someone with it or use it offensively or
>your trying to cross a parapet and avoid archers below and that's
>a obvious skill use in terms of concentrating on blocking the attack.
>What do you guys say?
>Longshot - ZC of AdventureNet International Echomail Network
>Fringe BBS - EWOG II - 904-733-1721
>Telegard / Allfix Beta Site
>ICQ: 24436933
As I understand the rules, you also get the expertise of a partial
success (1 expertise) if you use your shield in combat in addition to
the success expertise (CDF x2) if you block a hit with your shield
(shield hit).

A Referee could always decide to give some expertise in the shield skill
if you use it in some clever way.  I also think your right that if the
Ref allows the use of a shield in an offensive manner, that bashing
someone with it should count as a hit, just like with any other weapon.
  However, since the system doesn't cover that, you'd have to make up
some rules for it.  I'm not sure that I would make the skill to do a
shield bash, the same skill as the skill to use a shield defensively.  I
might make it a different skill in the shield group.

More information about the pnp mailing list