[PnP] META: game(docutementation) design

Hsingai Altaica draltaica at yahoo.com
Tue Jul 9 06:23:06 CEST 2019

I just realized /i quote the vesion from the wrong source.(The SRD instead of the actual  rulebook.)"Magical Lineage: One of your parents was a giftedspellcaster who not only used metamagic often, butdeveloped many magical items and perhaps even a newspell or two—and you have inherited a fragment of thisgreatness. Pick one spell when you choose this trait.When you apply metamagic feats to this spell, treat itsactual level as 1 lower for determining the spell’s finaladjusted level"

--- It is with books as with the fire in our hearths; we go to a neighbor to get the embers and light it when we return home, pass it on to others, and it belongs to everyone. 

    On Sunday, July 7, 2019, 10:38:01 AM CDT, Thomas O. Magann Jr. <tmagann at earthlink.net> wrote:  
 I'm thinking this was sent to the wrong list?  Seems to be about D&D not P&P. Edition 3.5, I think.,
And hasn't fireball always been 3rd level? Since the ORIGINAL original boxed set back in '74

-----Original Message-----
From: Hsingai Altaica 
Sent: Jul 7, 2019 12:10 AM
To: pnp at list.powersandperils.org
Subject: [PnP] META: game(docutementation) design

Since I don't trust anyone else to behave like reasonable adults I thought I'd share my thoughts here
THe errata should be the final say on the rules and have all contradictions to the Rule Books. then Rule Books and finally to clear up ambiguities the FAQ.
 "Benefit: Pick one spell when you choose this trait. When you apply metamagic feats to this spell that add at least 1 level to the spell, treat its actual level as 1 lower for determining the spell’s final adjusted level."
THis wording has the affordance that Usually metamagic can't lower a spells adjusted level below it's actual level

THeir FAQ states:"Magical Lineage (trait): Can I use this trait to adjust a spell's effective level below the unmodified spell's original level?

No. For example, it won't allow you to alter a wizard's fireball into 2nd-level spell." But the trait says that the original level of a wizard's fireball spell is 2 BEFORE being modified.

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://www.powersandperils.org/pipermail/pnp/attachments/20190709/5fe7474f/attachment.html>

More information about the pnp mailing list